State law does not outlaw riding on the sidewalk, although some municipalities have passed local ordinances that prohibit doing so. Bicycles, however, are considered vehicles and belong on the road. A notable exception made for small children.
Are bicycles allowed on city streets, major roadways, and highways?Sophia Pereira2022-08-08T14:27:46+00:00
Yes, bicycles are allowed on city streets and major roadways, but there are some restrictions highways. Check out NJDOT’s webpage on highway restrictions and bridges and tunnels for more detailed information. For more on riding a bicycle on the road, check out ourBicycle Laws webpage on the rights and duties of bicycle riders on roadways and keeping to the right.
Are bicycles required to have lights? What about bells?Sophia Pereira2022-08-08T14:37:32+00:00
Every bicycle when in use at nighttime shall be equipped with a white light lamp on the front and a red-light lamp on the rear. Every bicycle shall be equipped with a bell or other device capable of giving an audible signal. Sirens or whistles cannot be used on bicycles. Check out out Bicycle Laws webpage for more details.
What are the helmet laws for cyclists in New Jersey?Sophia Pereira2022-08-08T14:37:56+00:00
Bicyclists 17 years of age or younger must use helmet when riding a bicycle. Violators of the helmet law will receive warnings for their first offense. Parents or legal guardians may be fined a maximum of $25 for the 1st offense (after a warning has been issued) and a maximum of $100 for subsequent offense(s).
Are bicycles allowed on New Jersey Transit trains and buses?Sophia Pereira2022-08-08T14:38:28+00:00
NJ Transit allows collapsible bicycles on all of its trains at any time. However, standard bicycles and Segways are prohibited during certain times and on certain trains. All bicycles as well as Segway vehicles are permitted on the Atlantic City Rail Line at all times. Click here for more details. Click here for even more information bringing bicycles on trains, buses, and ferries.
What are the laws regarding children and bicycles in New Jersey?Sophia Pereira2022-07-27T20:32:10+00:00
Children under the age of 17 are required by state law to wear a helmet. While adults are generally discouraged (and in some municipalities, banned) from riding on the sidewalk, young children learning how to ride a bike are allowed on the sidewalk. Parents may be held responsible for their child if s/he does not obey bicycle laws. Click here on how to teach children to bike (and walk) safely.
What is the law regarding pedestrians in the crosswalk?Sophia Pereira2022-08-08T14:45:52+00:00
Drivers must STOP if a pedestrian is walking within a marked crosswalk. Failure by a motorist to stop and stay stopped for a pedestrian who is within a crosswalk may be subject to one or more of the following penalties: 2 points applied to your NJ Drivers’ license; $200 fine (plus court fees); and 15 days community service. Click here for more details.
What are motorists’ responsibilities concerning bicyclists and pedestrians?Sophia Pereira2022-08-08T14:46:48+00:00
Motorists must remain vigilant and aware of pedestrians, cyclists, and other motorists at all times.
They must obey all traffic laws and be particularly aware of pedestrians while making turns or at signalized intersections.
They should keep their windshields clear in order to increase visibility as much as possible and keep in mind pedestrians will be especially difficult to spot at night or in adverse weather conditions, such as rain, snow, or ice.
What are pedestrians’ responsibilities?Sophia Pereira2022-08-08T14:42:29+00:00
Unless a police officer directs a pedestrian to do otherwise, pedestrians only cross when the light is green or the pedestrian “WALK” signal is displayed.
Other than crosswalks, vehicles have the right-of-way and pedestrians should not expect motorists to stop for them. Cross at crosswalks whenever possible; if this is not possible, pedestrians need to exercise extreme caution when crossing.
A pedestrian is responsible for his/her own behavior by obeying traffic laws, being attentive to his/her surroundings, and only crossing when and where it is appropriate.
Pedestrians may only use crosswalks to cross the street. At intersections where traffic is directed by a police officer or traffic signal, no pedestrian shall enter upon or cross the highway at a point other than a crosswalk.
Pedestrians are required to use sidewalks where they are available. When there is no sidewalk, pedestrians must travel on the left side of the road so they are able to see oncoming traffic.
Pedestrians should look left first, then right, and left again before crossing a street.
Pedestrians who fail to utilize a crosswalk or fail to obey pedestrian signals may result in a fine of up to $54.00 for failure to observe the law.
Where can I find more information about biking safely in New Jersey?Sophia Pereira2022-08-08T14:39:50+00:00
Check out ourPedestrian Laws webpage where you can find new jersey laws regarding pedestrians and other tips on how to walk safely! If you can’t find what you are looking for, be sure to ask our help desk.
How should motorists’ approach vulnerable road users like pedestrians and bicyclist on the road?Sophia Pereira2022-08-08T14:58:35+00:00
Ride in the same direction as traffic and obey all traffic lights, signs, and signals.
It is advised to wear helmets to minimize potential head injury. Risers 17 years of age or younger must use helmet. Violators of the helmet law will receive warnings for their first offense. Parents or legal guardians may be fined a maximum of $25 for the 1st offense (after a warning has been issued) and a maximum of $100 for subsequent offense(s).
Park devices without blocking pedestrian and/or wheelchair access.
You should not ride on sidewalks. Off-road trails generally do not allow motorized bicycles, but may allow e-bikes and e-scooter. Check out local ordinances for any rules that may affect you in your municipality or county. Be sure to ride slowly in areas with pedestrians.